Advanced SearchSearch Tips
Soft X-ray Nano-spectroscopy for Electronic Structures of Transition Metal Oxide Nano-structures
facebook(new window)  Pirnt(new window) E-mail(new window) Excel Download
 Title & Authors
Soft X-ray Nano-spectroscopy for Electronic Structures of Transition Metal Oxide Nano-structures
Oshima, Masaharu;
  PDF(new window)
In order to develop nano-devices with much lower power consumption for beyond-CMOS applications, the fundamental understanding and precise control of the electronic properties of ultrathin transition metal oxide (TMO) films are strongly required. The metal-insulator transition (MIT) is not only an important issue in solid state physics, but also a useful phenomenon for device applications like switching or memory devices. For potential use in such application, the electronic structures of MIT, observed for TMO nano-structures, have been investigated using a synchrotron radiation angle-resolved photoelectron spectroscopy system combined with a laser molecular beam epitaxy chamber and a scanning photoelectron microscopy system with 70 nm spatial resolution. In this review article, electronic structures revealed by soft X-ray nano-spectroscopy are presented for i) polarity-dependent MIT and thickness-dependent MIT of TMO ultrathin films of and , respectively, and ii) electric field-induced MIT of TMO nano-structures showing resistance switching behaviors due to interfacial redox reactions and/or filamentary path formation. These electronic structures have been successfully correlated with the electrical properties of nano-structured films and nano-devices.
Soft x-ray;Nano-spectroscopy;Synchrotron Radiation;Transition metal oxide;Nano-structures;
 Cited by
M. Imada, A. Fujimori, and Y. Tokura, Rev. Mod. Phys. 70, 1039 (1998). crossref(new window)

K. Horiba, H. Ohguchi, H. Kumigashira, K. Ono, M. Oshima, N. Nakagawa, M. Lippmaa, M. Kawasaki, and H. Koinuma, Review of Scientific Instruments 74, 3406 (2003). crossref(new window)

K. Horiba, Y. Nakamura, N. Nagamura, S. Toyoda, H. Kumigashira, M. Oshima, K. Amemiya, Y. Senba, and H. Ohashi, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 82, 113701 (2011). crossref(new window)

A Ohtomo and H. Y. Huang, Nature 427, 423-426 (2004). crossref(new window)

K. Yoshimatsu, R. Yasuhara, H. Kumigashira, and M. Oshima, Phys, Rev, Lett. 101, 026802 (2008). crossref(new window)

G. Herranz, M. Basleti , M. Bibes, C. Carretero, E. Tafra, E. Jacquet, K. Bouzehouane, C. Deranlot, A. Hamzi, J.-M. Broto, A. Barthelemy, and A. Fert, Phys, Rev, Lett. 98, 216803 (2007). crossref(new window)

KS Takahashi, M. Gabay, D. Jaccard, T. Ohnishi, M. Lippmaa, J.-M. Triscone, Nature (London) 441, 195 (2006). crossref(new window)

D. D. Sarma, O. Rader, T. Kachel, A. Chainani, M. Mathew, K. Holldack, W. Gudat, and W. Eberhardt., Phys. Rev. B 49, 14238 (1994). crossref(new window)

D. H. Kim, D.-W. Kim, B.S. Kang, T. W. Noha, D. R. Lee, K.-B. Lee, S. J. Lee., Solid state Commun. 114, 473 (2000). crossref(new window)

K. Yoshimatsu, T. Okabe, H. Kumigashira, S. Okamoto, S. Aizaki, A. Fujimori, and M. Oshima., Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 147601 (2010). crossref(new window)

M. Takizawa, M. Minohara, H. Kumigashira, D. Toyota, M. Oshima, H. Wadati, T. Yoshida, A. Fujimori, M. Lippmaa, M. Kawasaki, H. Koinuma, G. Sordi, and M. Rozenberg., Phys. Rev. B 80, 235104 (2009). crossref(new window)

Young Jun Chang, Choong H. Kim, S.-H. Phark, Y. S. Kim, J. Yu, and T. W. Noh., Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 057201 (2009). crossref(new window)

A. Sekiyama, H. Fujiwara, S. Imada, S. Suga, H. Eisaki, S. I. Uchida, K. Takegahara, H. Harima, Y. Saitoh, I. A. Nekrasov, G. Keller, D. E. Kondakov, A. V. Kozhevnikov, Th. Pruschke, K. Held, D. Vollhardt, and V. I. Anisimov., Phys. Rev. Lett. 93, 156402 (2004). crossref(new window)

Kalobaran Maiti, U Manju, Sugata Ray, Priya Mahadevan, IH Inoue, C Carbone, DD Sarma., Phys. Rev. B 73, 052508 (2006). crossref(new window)

S. Okamoto and A. J Millis, Phys, Rev. B 70, 241104 (2004). crossref(new window)

I. H. Inoue, O. Goto, H. Makino, N. E. Hussey, and M. Ishikawa, Phys. Rev. B 58, 4372 (1998).

T. Yoshida, K. Tanaka, H. Yagi, A. Ino, H. Elsaki, A. fujimori, and Z.-X. Shen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 95, 146404 (2005). crossref(new window)

T.-C. Chiang, Surf. Sci. Rep. 39, 181 (2000). crossref(new window)

K. Yoshimatsu, K. Horiba, H. Ku migashira, T. Yoshida, A Fujimori, M. Oshima, Science 333, 319 (2011). crossref(new window)

T. Yoshida, M. Hashimoto, T. Takizawa, A. Fujimori, M. Kubota, K Ono, H. Eisaki. Phys, Rev. B 82, 085119 (2010). crossref(new window)

R. Yasuhara, K. Fujiwara, K. Horiba, H. Kumigashira, M. Kotsugi, M. Oshima and H. Takagi Appl, Phys. Lett. 95, 012110 (2009). crossref(new window)

Z. L. Liao, Z. Z. Wang, Y. Meng, Z. Y. Liu, P. Gao, J. L Gang, H. W. Zhao , X. J. Liang, X. D. Bai and D. M. Chen, Appl. Phys. Lett. 94, 253503 (2009). crossref(new window)

I. Olefjord, H. J. Mathieu, and P. Marcus, Surf. Interface Anal. 15, 681 (1990). crossref(new window)

C. Mitra, Z. Hu, P. Raychaudhuri, S. Wirth, S. I. Csiszar, H. H. Hsieh, H.-J. Lin, C. T. Chen, and L. H. Tjeng, Phys. Rev. B 67, 092404 (2003). crossref(new window)

T. Harada, I. Ohkubo, K. Tsubouchi, H. Kumigashira, T. Ohnishi, M. Lippmaa, Y. Matsumoto, H. Koinuma, and M. Oshima, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 222113 (2008). crossref(new window)

S. Toyoda, T. Namiki, E. Sakai, K. Nakata, M. Oshima and H. Kumigashira, J. Appl. Phys. 114, 243711 (2013). crossref(new window)

R. Yasuhara, T. Yamamoto, I. Ohkubo, H. Kumigashira and M. Oshima, Appl. Phys. Lett. 97, 132111 (2010). crossref(new window)

Alejandra B. Gurevich a, Brian E. Bent a, Andrew V. Teplyakov b, Jingguang G. Chen c, Surf. Sci. 442, L971 (1999). crossref(new window)

K. Horiba, K. Fujiwara, N. Nagamura, S. Toyoda, H. Kumigashira, M. Oshima, and H. Takagi Appl. Phys. Lett. 103, 193114 (2013). crossref(new window)

DC Kim, S Seo, SE Ahn, D-S Suh, MJ Lee, B-H Park, IK Yoo, IG Baek, H-J Kim, EK Yim, JE Lee, SO Park, HS Kim, U-In Chung, JT Moon, BI Ryu, Appl. Phys. Lett. 88, 212102 (2006). crossref(new window)

K. Kinoshita, T. Tamura, M. Aoki, Y. Sugiyama, and H. Tanaka, Appl. Phys. Lett. 89, 103509 (2006) crossref(new window)

M. Taguchi, M. Matsunami, Y.Ishida, R. Eguchi, A. Chainani, Y. Takata, M. Yabashi, K. Tamasaku, Y. Nishino, T. Ishikawa, Y. Senba, H. Ohashi and S. Shin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 206401 (2008). crossref(new window)

S. Toyoda, Y. Nakamura, K. Horiba, H. Kumigashira, M. Oshima, K. Amemiya, e-J. Surf. Sci. Nanotech. 9, 224, (2011). crossref(new window)

Naoka Nagamura, Koji Horiba, Satoshi Toyoda, Shodai Kurosumi, Toshihiro Shinohara, Masaharu Oshima, Hirokazu Fukidome, Maki Suemitsu, Kosuke Nagashio, and Akira Toriumi Appl, Phys, Lett. 102, 241604 (2013). crossref(new window)

Hirokazu Fukidome, Takayuki Ide, Yusuke Kawai, Toshihiro Shinohara, Naoka Nagamura, Koji Horiba, Masato Kotsugi, Takuo Ohkochi, Toyohiko Kinoshita, Hiroshi Kumighashira, Masaharu Oshima & Maki Suemitsu, Sci, Rep. 4, 5173 (2014).

Hirokazu Fukidome, Kousuke Nagashio, Naoka Nagamura, Keiichiro Tashima, Kazutoshi Funakubo, Koji Horiba, Maki Suemitsu, Akira Toriumi and Masaharu Oshima, Sci, Rep. 4, 5173 (2014).

Naoka Nagamura, Shota Ito, Koji Horiba, Toshihiro Shinohara, Masaharu Oshima, Shin-ichi Nishimura, Atsuo Yamada and Noritaka Mizuno, J. Phyw: Conf. Ser., 502, 012013 (2014).