Design of a Luenberger Observer-based Current Sensorless Multi-loop Control for Boost Converters

  • Li, Xutao ;
  • Chen, Minjie ;
  • Shinohara, Hirofumi ;
  • Yoshihara, Tsutomu
  • Received : 2016.02.15
  • Accepted : 2016.02.24
  • Published : 2016.02.29


Multi-loop control of a boost converter needs a current-sensing circuit to detect the inductor current. Current sensorless multi-loop control reduces the cost, size and weight of the converter. The Luenberger observer (LO) is widely used to estimate the inductor current for current sensorless control of a switching converter. However, the design of the LO-based sensorless multi-loop control has not been well presented, so far. In this paper, a closed-loop characteristics evaluation method is proposed to design an LO-based current sensorless multi-loop control for boost converters. Simulations show evaluations of the closed-loop characteristics. Practical experiments on a digital processor confirm the simulations.


Boost converter;Sensorless current control;Luenberger observer;Closed-loop characteristics


  1. X. Li, M. Chen, H. Shinohara, and T. Yoshihara, "Design of an auto-tunable PID controller for buck converters through a robust $H{\infty}$ synthesis approach," IEICE Communication Express, Vol. 5, No. 1, pp. 7-12, Jan. 2016.
  2. H. Choi, "Practical feedback loop design considerations for switched mode power supplies," Fairchild semiconductor power seminar, pp. 489-498, 2010-2011.
  3. Y. Li, K. R. Vannorsdel, A. J. Zirger, M. Norris, and D. Maksimovic, "Current mode control for boost converters with constant power loads," IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Vol. 59, No. 1, pp. 198-206, Jan. 2012.
  4. H.P. Forghanizadeh, G.A. Rincon-Mora, "Currentsensing techniques for DC-DC converters," Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems, pp. 577-580, Aug. 2002.
  5. P. Midya, P. T. Krein, and M. F. Greuel, "Sensorless current mode control-an observer-based technique for DC-DC converters," IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, Vol. 16, No. 4, pp. 522-526, Jul. 2001.
  6. J.T. Mossoba, P.T. Krein, "Design and control of sensorless current mode dc-dc converters," Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition, Vol. 1, pp 315-321, Feb. 2003.
  7. Q. Tong, Q. Zhang, R. Min, X. Zou, Z. Liu, and Z. Chen, "Sensorless predictive peak current control for boost converter using comprehensive compensation strategy," IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, Vol. 61, No. 6, pp. 2754-2766, June 2013.
  8. A. Kelly, K. Rinne, "Sensorless current-mode control of a digital dead-beat DC-DC converter," Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition, Vol. 3, pp. 1790-1795, Feb. 2004.
  9. G. Cimini, G. Ippoliti, G. Orlando, and M. Pirro, "Current sensorless solution for PFC boost converter operating both in DCM and CCM," Control & Automation (MED), pp. 137-142, Jun. 2013.
  10. P. Majid, D. Pritam, M. Gerry, J. Praveen, "Sensorless control of a boost PFC AC/DC Converter with a very fast transient response," Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition (APEC), pp. 356-360, Mar. 2013.
  11. D. G. Luenberger, "An introduction to observers," IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, Vol. 16, No. 6, pp. 596-602, Dec. 1971.
  12. R. Ahmadi, D. Paschedag, M. Ferdowsi, "Closedloop input and output impedances of dc-dc switching converters operating in voltage and current mode control," Annual Conference on IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, pp. 2311-2316, Nov. 2010.
  13. R. B. Ridley, B. H. Cho, F. C. Y. LEE, "An analysis and interpretation of loop gains of multi-loop controlled switching regulators," IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, Vol. 3, No. 4, pp. 489-498, Oct. 1988.
  14. H. Cho, S. J. Yoo, S. Kwak, "State observer based sensorless control using Lyapunov's method for boost converters". IET Power Electronics, Vol. 8, No. 1, pp 11-19, May 2014.
  15. V. Spinu, M. Dam, and M. Lazar, "Observer design for dc/dc power converters with bilinear averaged model," Proceedings of the 4th IFAC Conference on Analysis and Design of Hybrid Systems, pp. 204-209, Jun. 2012.